Subterranea Britannica Annual General Meeting 2019 - Minutes

27th April 2019, Lecture Theatre G20, Royal School of Mines, Imperial College, London.

The meeting was opened at 10.10 by the Chairman, Martin Dixon, who welcomed all those attending. 65 members were present.

- 1. Apologies were received from Jon Maisey, Stewart Wild, John Lill, John Burgess, Richard Seabrook, Chris Wall, Nigel Wall, Jason Hughes, Nick Catford, Bill & Joan Ridgeway, Tim Wellburn, Liz Gray, Stewart Angell.
- 2. The Minutes of the AGM 2018 were published to all members in **Subterranea #48**, August 2018. It was proposed by Alistair Graham Kerr, seconded by Bob Clary, that the Minutes were a true reflection of the meeting; the proposal was accepted with one abstention.
- 3. Annual Report. This has been published to all members and is on Sub Brit's web site. Martin highlighted some of the key activities during 2018 and thanked all members who had contributed, both visibly and behind the scenes. Sub Brit arranged weekends based in Nottingham and Budapest; there were also a good number of day visits including Mail Rail 'walk the track', Paddock standby Cabinet War Room, Thames Tideway River Tour, RAF Daws Hill, Cambridge War Room/RSG, RAF Lakenheath, Williamson's Tunnels and Queensway Tunnel, Grantham Reservoir and RAF North Witham and others. This enabled several hundred Sub Brit members to go underground.
- 4. Statement of Financial Activities: Sub Brit's Accounts have been signed off by the Committee and Independent Examiner and have been filed at Companies House and the Charity Commission.
- 5. The motion proposed by the Committee to increase the Annual Subscriptions to the Society to £25 (£35 Overseas) per annum, with immediate effect was carried unanimously
- 6. The motion that nominations for Sub Brit's Committee be considered '*en-bloc*' was proposed by Sam Marko and seconded by Paul Sowan. The motion was carried unanimously.
- 7. The motion to elect the following Committee members for 2018/19 was carried unanimously. There are still vacancies for more members to join the Committee please get in touch if you'd like to come along to a meeting to see how it works.

The elected Committee for 2019/2020 is:-

Martin Dixon Chairman
Richard West Vice Chairman
Linda Dixon Secretary

Nick Catford Membership Secretary

Tony Radstone Treasurer Phil Catling Member Alistair Graham Kerr Member Chris Gray Member Jason Hughes Member Richard Seabrook Member Paul Sowan Member Bob Templeman Member Tim Wellburn Member

The Meeting officially closed at 10.30.

Martin then outlined a number of forthcoming events including Churchill War Rooms private tour (22 May), Standedge Canal Tunnel transit (13 June), Sub Brit Autumn Meeting (19 Oct) and a further Mail Rail 'behind the Scenes' on 5th August.